Author:"Boyle, T.C."

Sort

Showing 1-4 of 4

Image for East Is East (Contemporary American Fiction)

East Is East (Contemporary American Fiction)

By: "Boyle, T.C."

Price: $8.50

Publisher: Penguin Books:

Seller ID: 9780140131673

ISBN: 0140131671

Condition: GOOD


Young Japanese seaman Hiro Tanaka, inspired by dreams of the City of Brotherly Love and trained in the ways of the samurai, jumps ship off the coast of Georgia and swims into a net of rabid rednecks, genteel ladies, descendants of slaves, and the denizens of an artists' colony. In the hands of T. Coraghessan Boyle, praised by Digby Diehl in Playboy as "one of the most exciting young fiction writers in America," the result is a sexy, hilarious tragicomedy of thwarted expectations and mistaken identity, love, jealousy, and betrayal. View more info

Image for Drop City

Drop City

By: "Boyle, T.C."

Price: $7.00

Publisher: Penguin Books:

Seller ID: 9780142003800

ISBN: 0142003808

Condition: GOOD


It is 1970, and a down-at-the-heels California commune devoted to peace, free love, and the simple life has decided to relocate to the last frontier--the unforgiving landscape of interior Alaska--in the ultimate expression of going back to the land. Armed with the spirit of adventure and naive optimism, the inhabitants of "Drop City" arrive in the wilderness of Alaska only to find their utopia already populated by other young homesteaders. When the two communities collide, unexpected friendships and dangerous enmities are born as everyone struggles with the bare essentials of life: love, nouri... View more info

Image for World's End (Contemporary American Fiction)

World's End (Contemporary American Fiction)

By: "Boyle, T.C."

Price: $6.50

Publisher: Penguin Books:

Seller ID: 9780140299939

ISBN: 0140299939

Condition: GOOD


Haunted by the burden of his family's traitorous past, woozy with pot, cheap wine and sex, and disturbed by a frighteningly real encounter with some family ghosts, Walter van Brunt is about to have a collision with history. It will lead Walter to search for his lost father. And it will send the story into the past of the Hudson River Valley, from the late 1960's back to the anticommunist riots of the 1940's to the late seventeenth century, where the long-hidden secrets of three families--the aristocratic van Warts, the Native-American Mohonks, and Walter's own ancestors, the van Brunts--wil... View more info

Image for A Friend of the Earth

A Friend of the Earth

By: "Boyle, T.C."

Price: $6.50

Publisher: Penguin Books:

Seller ID: 9780141002057

ISBN: 0141002050

Condition: GOOD


In the tradition of The Tortilla Curtain, T.C. Boyle blends idealism and satire in a story that addresses the universal questions of human love and the survival of the species. In the year 2025 global warming is a reality, the biosphere has collapsed, and 75-year-old environmentalist Ty Tierwater is eking out a living as care-taker of a pop star's private zoo when his second ex-wife re-enters his life. Both gritty and surreal, A Friend of the Earth represents a high-water mark in Boyle's career-his deep streak of social concern is effortlessly blended here with genuine compassion for his ... View more info