Category: biography

Sort

Showing 401-420 of 431

Maiden Voyage

By: "Welch, Denton"

Price: $24.95

Publisher: "Hammondsworth, UK", 1983

Edition: (reprint)

Seller ID: 7-3T002

ISBN: 0140095225

Condition: GOOD


"Ex-library with expected markings and protective cover. Faint age toning of pages. From running away from school in England to ""his impressions of the Temple of Heaven in Peking…he reveals his unique gift for observation coupled with a brilliantly idiosyncratic appreciation..."" of the world around him." View more info

King George VI: His Life and Reign

By: "Wheeler-Bennett, John W."

Price: $39.95

Publisher: "London, UK", 1965

Edition: (3rd reprint)

Seller ID: 4-DH008

Condition: VERY GOOD-


"Tight, bright, clean with slight curl caused by reading crease on spine of 1-3/4"" (4.2cm) thick paperback. Faintest age tanning to spine and top edge of front cover. ""A study in the growth of the individual in relation to kingship..."" 891 indexed, annotated pages with Reference list and fold out Genealogical chart from George II to Elizabeth II." View more info

Daniel Boone: Wilderness Scout

By: "White, Stewart Edward (Henry C. Pitz, illus.)"

Price: $9.95

Publisher: "Garden City, NY", c1957

Seller ID: 0DH006

Condition: VERY GOOD+/ Very Good


"As new except for gift inscription on first free page. Unclipped DJ I is clean and intact but has slight edgewear to top edge. ""the true story of a man whose strength, foresight and exciting adventures became legendary even in his own lifetime…Daniel Boone's accomplishments - the Wilderness Trail, the settlements beyond the mountains...his vision of the American West, which he opened up for settlement..."" Originally copyrighted by the Boy Scouts of America in 1921. 254 pages. Young Adult to Adult. " View more info

Image for "Our Nig or, Sketches from the Life of a Free Black"

"Our Nig or, Sketches from the Life of a Free Black"

By: "Wilson, Harriet E. (Foreman & Pitts, ed.)"

Price: $11.95

Publisher: NY, PENGUIN GROUP: 2009

Edition: (150th Anniversary Edition)

Seller ID: 15T033

ISBN: 0143105760

Condition: FINE


"As new except for slight rubbing to edges of cover. ""First published in 1859…an autobiographical narrative that stands as one of the most important firsthand accounts of black experience in the antebellum North…a powerful, heartbreaking story about the resilience of the human spirit..."" 109 annotated pages, with photo illustrations of original material." View more info

Image for "Daddy's Apprentice: Incest, Corruption, and Betrayal - A Survivor's Story"

"Daddy's Apprentice: Incest, Corruption, and Betrayal - A Survivor's Story"

By: "Wilson, Sandy (with S.L. Bolton"

Price: $14.95

Publisher: "San Jose, CA", IUNIVERSE INC: 2000

Seller ID: 94H024

ISBN: 0595135544

Condition: FINE


"As new. ""Born of incest to a brother and sister, then abandoned to the care of her grandparents, Sandy learned to forage in dumpsters for food, to dupe government caregivers, and to defraud insurance companies….""" View more info

Image for Duke of Deception: Memories of My Father

Duke of Deception: Memories of My Father

By: "Wolff, Geoffrey"

Price: $6.50

Publisher: Vintage:

Seller ID: 9780679727521

ISBN: 0679727523

Condition: GOOD


View more info

Image for This Boy's Life: A Memoir

This Boy's Life: A Memoir

By: "Wolff, Tobias"

Price: $4.50

Publisher: Perennial:

Seller ID: 9780060972776

ISBN: 0060972777

Condition: GOOD


In this unforgettable memoir of boyhood in the 1950s, we meet the young Toby Wolff, by turns tough and vulnerable, crafty and bumbling, and ultimately winning. Separated by divorce from his father and brother, Toby and his mother are constantly on the move. Between themselves they develop an almost telepathic trust that sees them through their wanderings from Florida to a small town in Washington State. Fighting for identity and self-respect against the unrelenting hostility of a new stepfather, Toby's growing up is at once poignant and comical. His various schemes--running away to Alaska, for... View more info

Image for "Shopping, Seduction & Mr. Selfridge"

"Shopping, Seduction & Mr. Selfridge"

By: "Woodhead, Lindy"

Price: $8.00

Publisher: Random House Trade Paperbacks:

Seller ID: 9780812985047

ISBN: 0812985044

Condition: GOOD


If you lived at Downton Abbey, you shopped at Selfridge's. Harry Gordon Selfridge was a charismatic American who, in twenty-five years working at Marshall Field's in Chicago, rose from lowly stockboy to a partner in the business which his visionary skills had helped to create. At the turn of the twentieth century he brought his own American dream to London's Oxford Street where, in 1909, with a massive burst of publicity, Harry opened Selfridge's, England's first truly modern built-for-purpose department store. Designed to promote shopping as a sensual and pleasurable experience, six acres... View more info

Image for "Call the Midwife: A Memoir of Birth, Joy, and Hard Times"

"Call the Midwife: A Memoir of Birth, Joy, and Hard Times"

By: "Worth, Jennifer"

Price: $8.00

Publisher: Penguin Books:

Seller ID: 9780143123255

ISBN: 0143123254

Condition: very good


View more info

Image for Prozac Nation

Prozac Nation

By: "Wurtzel, Elizabeth"

Price: $6.45

Publisher: Riverhead Books:

Edition: 2

Seller ID: 9781573225120

ISBN: 1573225126

Condition: very good


"A book that became a cultural touchstone." -- "The New Yorker" Elizabeth Wurtzel writes with her finger in the faint pulse of an overdiagnosed generation whose ruling icons are Kurt Cobain, Xanax, and pierced tongues. In this famous memoir of her bouts with depression and skirmishes with drugs, Prozac Nation is a witty and sharp account of the psychopharmacology of an era for readers of "Girl, Interrupted "and Sylvia Plath's "The Bell Jar." View more info

Image for Banker To The Poor: Micro-Lending and the Battle Against World Poverty

Banker To The Poor: Micro-Lending and the Battle Against World Poverty

By: "Yunus, Muhammad"

Price: $8.00

Publisher: PublicAffairs:

Seller ID: 9781586481988

ISBN: 1586481983

Condition: GOOD


Muhammad Yunus is that rare thing: a bona fide visionary. His dream is the total eradication of poverty from the world. In 1983, against the advice of banking and government officials, Yunus established Grameen, a bank devoted to providing the poorest of Bangladesh with minuscule loans. Grameen Bank, based on the belief that credit is a basic human right, not the privilege of a fortunate few, now provides over 2.5 billion dollars of micro-loans to more than two million families in rural Bangladesh. Ninety-four percent of Yunus's clients are women, and repayment rates are near 100 percent. Arou... View more info

Image for Smashed: Story of a Drunken Girlhood

Smashed: Story of a Drunken Girlhood

By: "Zailckas, Koren"

Price: $8.00

Publisher: Penguin Books:

Seller ID: 9780143036470

ISBN: 0143036475

Condition: GOOD


Garnering a vast amount of attention from young people and parents, and from book buyers across the country, Smashed became a media sensation and a New York Times bestseller. Eye-opening and utterly gripping, Koren Zailckas's story is that of thousands of girls like her who are not alcoholics--yet--but who routinely use booze as a shortcut to courage and a stand-in for good judgment.With one stiff sip of Southern Comfort at the age of fourteen, Zailckas is initiated into the world of drinking. From then on, she will drink faithfully, fanatically. In high school, her experimentation will ... View more info

Portraits de Famille

By: Alain (Emile Chartier

Price: $13.95

Publisher: France, 1961

Seller ID: 3NT003

Condition: VERY GOOD-


"Tight, faint age tanning of pages, clean interior, light age soil to covers, square. Rough-cut page edges. Protective cover. Text in French ""On connaît les traits des parents et grands-parents d'apres un album de portraits de famille, que l'auteur de la biographie a sous les yeux…""" View more info

"Writers at Work: The Paris Review Interviews, 7th Series"

By: anthology

Price: $4.00

Publisher: Penguin Books:

Seller ID: 9780140085006

ISBN: 0140085009

Condition: GOOD


View more info

Image for A Hundred and One Days: A Baghdad Journal

A Hundred and One Days: A Baghdad Journal

By: Asne Seierstad

Price: $7.00

Publisher: Basic Books:

Seller ID: 9780465076017

ISBN: 0465076017

Condition: very good


For one hundred and one days Asne Seierstad worked as a reporter in Baghdad. Always in search of a story far less obvious than the American military invasion, Seierstad brings to life the world behind the headlines in this compelling- and heartbreaking-account of her time among the people of Iraq. From the moment she first arrived in Baghdad on a ten-day visa, she was determined to unearth the modern secrets of an ancient place and to find out how the Iraqi people really live. What do people miss most when their world changes overnight? What do they choose to say when they can suddenly say wha... View more info

Francis: Saint of Assisi and the World

By: Del Popolo

Price: $8.95

Publisher: "McLean, VA", Cavalier Publishing House: 1988

Seller ID: 7-0H014

ISBN: 0961953101

Condition: NEAR FINE


As new except for faintest shelfwear to cover edges. A biography of St. Francis of Assisi written in an auto-biographical style. 438 pages. View more info

Journal D'Une Parisienne

By: Giroud. Francoise

Price: $9.95

Publisher: "Paris, France", c1994

Seller ID: 90H002

ISBN: 2020134489

Condition: VERY GOOD+/ Fine


" As new except for faint spots on top edge of exterior page edges and reading crease on spine. ""Journal de la fin du siecle…"" Text in French. ISBN: 202134489." View more info

I Caught Flies for Howard Hughes

By: Kistler

Price: $8.95

Publisher: "Chicago, IL", 1977

Seller ID: 7-3P002

Condition: FAIR


"UGLY READING COPY. Tight, appears unread but has soiled, creased covers with bottom front cover corner clipped. Owner's name and bookstore stamp on first free page. ""hilarious account of [Kistler's] three years as Hughes' driver and bodyguard."" ""An amusing anecdotal account of life with an eccentric billionaire.""" View more info

Dear Scott/ Dear Max: The Fitzgerald-Perkins Correspondence

By: Kuehl & Bryer Ed. )

Price: $17.95

Publisher: NY, ©1971

Seller ID: 99T023

ISBN: 0684135035

Condition: VERY GOOD+


"As new except for tiny chip on front corner, owner's name on first free page and tiny stain and remainder mark on exterior page edges. ""the letters…record the relationship between a great writer and an incomparable editor. From 1910 to 1940, the correspondence reveals the genesis of a talent and the progress of a career..."" 282 pages. " View more info

Die fremden Jahre: Erinnerungen an Deutschland

By: Leyens & Andor

Price: $9.95

Publisher: "Frankfurt, Germany", 1991

Seller ID: 6-8T013

ISBN: 3596107792

Condition: VERY GOOD+


"Tight, faint age tanning to pages edges, clean, slight flare to corners. Covers have faint surface crease and light rubbing rubbing to edges. 1 folded page corner. 120 pages. Text in German.""The Foreign Years: Memories of Germany"" Contents: ""Unter dem NS-Regime 1933-1938, Erlebnisse und Beobachtungen"" by Erich Leyens; ""Memoiren einer unbekannten Schauspielerin, oder Ich war nie ein Bernhardiner"" by Lotte Andor."" = ""Under the Nazi regime 1933-1938, experiences and observations"" by Erich Leyens; ""Memoi... View more info